Skip to Main Content
Texas A & M Libraries Logo
AskUs
Research Guides

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research

This guide is intended to provide examples of different resources available for the study of science fiction and fantasy literature. By no means comprehensive, it is meant to inform and inspire a variety of research projects within the genre.

Finding Articles & Resources

  • The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database

    • "The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database is a freely available online resource designed to help students and researchers locate secondary sources for the study of science fiction and fantasy and associated genres. These include: historical material; books; articles; news reports; interviews; film reviews; commentary; and fan writing. The database was originally compiled by Hal W. Hall, a librarian at Texas A&M University, and draws and expands upon the Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Indexes of 1878-1985; 1985-1991; and 1992-1995."

  • JSTOR
    • Multidisciplinary archive of digitized scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and general and biological sciences but continues to grow. Published by: JSTOR
  • MLA International Bibliography
    • This database indexes sources on literature, linguistics and drama from 1963 to present. Also available in print back to 1920. While it indexes secondary literature, it may lead to other pertinent information on the topic. PB1 .M46 from 1920 to 1962; from 1963 to present, on the web.
  • Humanities Source Ultimate
    • With nearly 2,000 full-text journals (almost 1,600 peer reviewed) Humanities Source Ultimate offers a wide variety of resources, such as feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, original works of fiction, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas and plays that illuminate human thinking, action and interaction.
      Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
  • EBSCOHost (Academic Search Complete)
    • A collection of selected full text periodicals and scholarly journals, U.S. and international newspapers, reference books and detailed pamphlets from a variety of disciplines.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index are part of the Web of Knowledge.
    • An online database indexing resources in all areas. It includes citations of critical articles on popular culture, film and television. The online versions go back to 1982 while the paper version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Z5931 .A78 goes back to 1975, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Z7163 .S6 extends back to 1956.
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses
    • Full text access to all dissertations published by participating institutions from 1997 onward – over 450,000 in all. Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses prior to 1997.
  • Book Review Digest
    • Provides citations and excerpts from reviews in approximately 90 popular journals from 1983 to present in the electronic version. The paper version has excerpts from complete reviews for fiction and nonfiction many disciplines starting from 1905. Z1219 .C95.
  • Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
    • Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access for readers of all ages and skill levels. Beginning-level users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics, and more.
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
    • Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more hundreds of journals and books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive. Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
  • Project Muse
    • Full text access to over 350 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title. Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
    • The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
  • Chicano Database
    • This resource identifies material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Also includes (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
  • Gender Studies Database
    • The Gender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. GSD includes: several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and web documents professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and other carefully selected and important websites.
  • Index Islamicus
    • The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world (including the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere). Records include citations in over 3,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    • Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

The following journals represent current TAMU subscriptions and can be accessed by selecting the "eJournals" button on the home page and searching for the journal by title.

  • Analog Science Fiction/Science Fact
  • Fantasy and Science Fiction
  • Science Fiction Film and Television
  • Science Fiction Studies