The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection
- Make sure you take advantage of visiting this amazing collection while you're here at TAMU! "The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection at Cushing Library is one of the largest of its kind in the world. It holds thousands upon thousands of books and monographs ranging from 17th-century works of proto-science fiction to the most recent titles of significance; serials, including over 90% of the SF and other genre American pulp magazines published in the 20th-century; a growing number of archival collections from authors and other creators such as George R.R. Martin, Michael Moorcock, Robert A. Howard, Andre Norton, Elizabeth Moon, Lisa Tuttle, Martha Wells, Howard Waldrop, and Robert Silverberg; and fanworks such as fanzines, fanvids and filksong."
Bowling Green State University Science Fiction/Fantasy Collections
- “Especially significant are the Library's holdings of pulp magazines, including extensive or complete runs of Amazing Stories, Astounding Science Fiction, Tales of Magic and Mystery, Thrilling Wonder Stories, and Weird Tales, among many others. The Browne Library also houses nearly 4,500 fanzines and related publications, including rare issues of Flying Saucers, Twilight Zone, and Spacecraft Digest.”
Eaton Collection of Science Fiction & Fantasy (UC Riverside)
- “The Eaton Collection of Science Fiction & Fantasy is one of the world's largest, richest, and deepest collections of science fiction, fantasy, horror, utopian literature and related genres. The collection originated with the personal library of Dr. J. Lloyd Eaton, consisting of about 7,500 hardback editions of science fiction, fantasy and horror from the Nineteenth to the mid-Twentieth centuries, which was acquired by the UCR Library in 1969.”
Harvard Library Science Fiction Collection
- “The Science Fiction Collection at Houghton Library consists largely of 20th-century trade paperbacks, magazines, fanzines, and prozines. Established as a discrete collection in 1957, it complements the Rev. Francis G. Peabody Utopian Literature Collection, as well as the library’s individual author collections of such writers as Jules Verne, H.G. Wells, and Edward Bellamy.”
Hollywood Science Fiction Museum (California)
- “The mission of the Hollywood Science Fiction Museum (HSFM) is to teach and inspire people of all ages with an uplifting vision of the future found in science fiction media, art and literature by teaching Real Science through Science Fiction, including technology, ecology, engineering, computers, robotics, math, space travel and all aspects of filmmaking through fun, interactive exhibits and programs.”
Kenneth Spencer Research Library (University of Kansas)
- “In addition to our holdings of Science Fiction books and periodicals, the Spencer Research Library holds papers and manuscript materials for several writers, publishers, agents, and organizations involved in the larger world of Speculative Fiction. Additionally, the library holds several hundred oral history tapes from the Science Fiction Oral History Association, as well as other science fiction audio-visual materials.”
Liverpool Science Fiction Book Collection
- “The book stock at Liverpool is mainly formed by the Science Fiction Foundation Library. It represents the largest catalogued collection of science fiction, fantasy, horror and related literary criticism in Europe, totaling over 35,000 books.”
Merril Collection of Science Fiction, Speculation and Fantasy (Toronto Public Library)
- “THE MERRIL COLLECTION OF SCIENCE Fiction, Speculation and Fantasy, located on the third floor of the Lillian H. Smith branch of the Toronto Public Library, is a unique non-circulating research collection of over 72,000 items of science fiction, fantasy and speculative fiction, as well as magic realism, experimental writing and some materials in ‘fringe’ areas such as parapsychology, UFOs, Atlantean legends etc.”
Museum of Classic Sci-Fi
- 'The Museum of Classic Sci-Fi' is a meticulously curated, small museum, packed with fascinating unique items from the worlds of science-fiction history and classic era 'Doctor Who'. Despite its 'small museum' tag, you will actually find far more exhibits on display than in many much larger establishments - and every item has been painstakingly researched, preserved and displayed by museum creator/curator Neil Cole.”
Museum of Pop Culture’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame (Seattle, Washington)
- “The Hall of Fame exhibition invites visitors to explore the lives and legacies of the current inductees through interpretive films, interactive kiosks, and more than 30 artifacts, including Luke Skywalker’s severed hand from George Lucas’ The Empire Strikes Back, the Staff of Ra headpiece from Steven Spielberg’s Raiders of the Lost Ark, author Isaac Asimov’s typewriter, and more. Founded in 1996, the Hall of Fame was relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas to its permanent home at MoPOP in 2004. The final inductees are nominated by the public, and chosen by a panel of award-winning science fiction and fantasy authors, artists, editors, publishers, and film professionals.”
Museum of Pop Culture’s “Fantasy: Worlds of Myth and Magic” Exhibit
- “From The Wizard of Oz and The Princess Bride to Harry Potter, Fantasy: Worlds of Myth and Magic invites audiences on a fantastical journey to unearth the inspiration behind this genre’s most magnificent creations.”
Museum of Science Fiction (in Washington DC)
- “We are creating one of the most fascinating and immersive museums on the planet. Imagine walking through a Stargate to a destination that houses the most awe-inspiring and thought-provoking artifacts from the best imaginations in science fiction. Refuel a full-size X-Wing Starfighter or open a time portal with your smartphone. These are just some of the ideas we hope to bring to life.”
Normal Rockwell Museum’s “Enchanted: A History of Fantasy Illustration”
- “Enchanted: A History of Fantasy Illustration explores fantasy archetypes from the Middle Ages to today. The exhibition will present the immutable concepts of mythology, fairy tales, fables, good versus evil, and heroes and villains through paintings, etchings, drawings, and digital art created by artists from long ago to illustrators working today. Mythology explores the adventures of Apollo and Thor, Perseus rescuing Andromeda with the head of Medusa, and the labours of Hercules; fairy tales depict the worlds of elves, fairies, and mermaids, and conjure dreams of Little Nemo in Slumberland, Alice in Wonderland, and Cinderella; heroes and villains follow the exploits of Arthurian legends, Prince Valiant, Conan the Barbarian, and The Lord of the Rings; and haunting images of sorcerers and witches, and battles between angels and demons embody the struggle between good and evil.”
Science Fiction & Fantasy (University of South Florida)
- “Today, the Science Fiction & Fantasy Collection is out of this world, consisting of several thousand volumes of iconic works and literary criticism, 200 linear feet of manuscript materials, a number of first editions and first printings of classic titles, European and Latin American authors, a significant collection of science fiction pulp magazines and dime novels, and a digital archive of the SFRA Review. In addition to providing access to canonical science fiction titles, authors, and series, Special Collections has developed an unparalleled collection of Latin American science fiction. Latin American science fiction authors have developed a unique, transnational niche in the global science fiction community, a niche that USF is seeking to document and preserve.”
Time Machine Museum of Science Fiction (Bromyard, England)
- “Welcome to the finest collection of Television Science Fiction props and costumes in the GALAXY !! A visit to this permanent Museum really is a MUST for fans of Television Science Fiction with items from lots of different shows all under one roof, with ONE admission charge to see them all! Get up close to lots of actual screen used props and costumes from Doctor Who, Red Dwarf, Star Wars, Star Trek,Thunderbirds, Stingray and Captain Scarlet with many more surprises. All of the Exhibitions are stunningly displayed and lit very atmospherically in our Creepy Dungeon which has many rooms and corridors to explore. There's something lurking around every corner!”
UBMC Sci Fi & Fantasy Fanzines LibGuide
- University of Maryland, Baltimore County has gathered a comprehensive list of fanzine collections.
William J. Heron Collection of Speculative Fiction (Virginia Polytechnic Institute)
- “Between 1989 and 1994, Special Collections and University Archives acquired a significant collection of science fiction materials from William J. Heron, a private collector from North Carolina. There are more than 150 science fiction reference works, 11,000 paperback novels, and 4,500 issues from over 200 titles of British, Australian, and primarily American pulp magazines, dating from the 1910s through 1980s. These include the first published works of well-known science fiction and fantasy authors.”
